Truecaller is the best caller id application on both iOS and Android. It is one of the most useful applications right now in the market. With Truecaller, whenever someone rings you, you will get the name of the person calling you. If you ever wonder how truecaller works, how it collects data, this article is for you. Here is how truecaller works.
HOW TRUECALLER WORKS?
Technical aspects of the working of Truecaller is pretty simple and you can understand easily. But in view of a normal user, Truecaller is something like a magic. Because we get the name of the person whose contact is not saved in our phone, we get the spam alerts of a number.
Truecaller works on the principle of Crowd Sourcing. Data is crowd sourced from millions of users just like Google Maps Live traffic. Truecaller helps users with the help of users only. Whenever someone installs Truecaller app, the contacts on the device gets synced with Truecaller servers. Truecallers servers have millions of contacts provided by millions of users.
When you get a call, if the number is not in your contacts, Truecallers searches it in its database and retrieve the name if found. But the name shown is not exact because contacts are saved differently according to person. For example, My contact is saved as Bro in my friend phone, 10021 in classmate phone etc. So the contact names provided by Truecaller will not be accurate.
If you are concerned about your privacy, you can unlist your number with truecaller on their website. No one can see your name on Truecaller app when you call someone, or someone searches for your contact. Another interesting feature with Truecaller is you will get contact of the person without a smartphone too.
The accuracy of Truecaller has been increasing since its beginning. That’s the beauty of crowd sourcing. With the number of users is increased, more data is collected from public and used for public itself. The data is collected, processed and provided to the users.
How to Unlist your number from Truecaller?
To unlist your number from Truecaller database, go to Truecaller unlist.
If you are a verified user and have an account with Truecaller, you must first deactivate your account in the settings. It may take up to 24 hours to process the request. Once done, your name will no longer appear on Truecaller and previous records also will be deleted.